CAST 101

12 Jun

Hello!

 

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to visit my page. Your interest is very much appreciated. I’m not at all familiar with the world of blogging, so please don’t be too critical.

 

Also, I plan on changing the names of people that I mention in my posts – simply for confidentiality.

 

Introductions?

 

I think yes.

 

My name is Adriana Ramos, I’m a Human Biology-Government dual major, and I’m interning at CAST (Coalition to Abolish Slavery and Trafficking) in Los Angeles. There’s so much that I can say about this organization. CAST’s mission is to assist persons trafficked for the purpose of forced labor and slavery-like practices and to work toward ending all instances of such human rights violations. It is the first agency in the US dedicated to victims of modern slavery via comprehensive client services and advocacy programs.  I’ll stop there – take a look for yourself!

 

http://www.castla.org/definition-of-the-issue

 

So I recently moved in with my roommate Beyoncé’s house near Chinatown for the next two months, and so far the food and company have been wonderful. I can already see a significant difference (p<0.005) in my parallel parking abilities and my natural inclination to make eye contact with strangers. Beyoncé advised me to not be so friendly to people I don’t know.

 

Back to the internship.

 

I arrived about an hour early to work because I wasn’t nervous or anything. It was nice though because I had the opportunity to get to know the super cool volunteer at the front desk. Upon the arrival of the CAST Director of Partnerships, Tessa, I began a day full of introductions and informational sessions. This included studying the history of national and international human trafficking, as well as legislation (and other anti-trafficking efforts).

 

Well that’s all I’m going to write for now. I strongly encourage you to read a little bit about the issue and maybe even share your knowledge with others!

 

Here’s a start.

 

“According to the 2008 Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Report, human trafficking is a multi-dimensional threat; it deprives people of their human rights and freedoms, it increases global health risks, and it fuels the growth of organized crime.”

 

5 Responses to “CAST 101”

  1. Angelica Ferreira June 12, 2012 at 7:40 am #

    Great job Adrianna! I wish you the best experience at your internship :) You will be a wonderful asset to this organization. I look forward to reading more of your posts ;D

    • Angelica Ferreira June 12, 2012 at 7:40 am #

      *Adriana

    • nerdieface June 19, 2012 at 8:25 am #

      Thank you for your support Angelica! You are so incredibly kind (^_^)

  2. Kirsti June 12, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    Glad your first day went well Adriana! I look forward to hearing more about your experiences at CAST and in Chinatown.

    • nerdieface June 19, 2012 at 8:27 am #

      Hi Kirsti! I’m so thankful for this opportunity – I will keep this updated!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

